#ReViz – A way to learn Atleryx and Tableau

Those of you that have followed my existence in the Tableausphere will probably already know that one of my favourite hobbies is to rip off other peoples work. I even used my guest blog for Tableau to write about it.

It’s quite a simple process, I find a visualisation I like, I recreate it. ‘Steal like an artist’ as the phrase goes.

I do have one condition on my mind when doing these projects, the visualisation will be something that I have never made in Tableau before.

So why do I do it?

Well to me, it is the best way to learn Tableau.

Recreating visualisations stretches the limits of Tableau’s ability and allows you to spot small areas that can help your understanding of the software. Plus it also allows you to to practice new techniques and explore different ways of visualising data.

From here on in, I am going to produce a ReViz every Tuesday and blog its creation (although you can expect the first blog to land tomorrow!).

Here are some examples of recreations that I have made previously, all of which can be seen in more detail here.

#VizLikeAnArtist

ReViz.png

 

Leave a Reply

